Community Writing Center

Ever wanted to write your own memoir? Is there a poem inside of you waiting to come out? Need help on your college application essay? Would you like to learn how to speak publicly and stop those knees from shaking? Draft business correspondence?

In November, 2016, Rutgers University–Newark Chancellor Nancy Cantor and Mayor Ras J. Baraka announced the opening of the Rutgers University-Newark Community Writing Center to support Newark residents in accomplishing these creative and professional goals and much more.

The mission of the Center is to support creative expression, information literacy, fluency in academic and professional discourse, and community engagement in civic affairs through the craft of writing. Founded on the belief that writing is socially transformative and affords possibilities for self and social reflection, growth, and mobility, the Center will provide Newark residents with access to hands-on workshops run by professional writers.

 

Workshops will be held in the Newark Public Library, 5 Washington Street, from 5:30 to 7:30pm every Wednesday evening. Workshops will be held in the first floor cafe of the library and will provide instruction in writing for professional purposes, personal expression, academics, and civic engagement. All workshops are hands-on, so you will leave with a written piece!

Please visit our Facebook page: RU-N Community Writing Center

Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - Writing Your Resume

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - First Generation, Immigrant, and Migrant Writing
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - Fiction for Beginners
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - Editing and Revising Your Writing
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 - Writing Letters We'll Never Send
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 - Writing Science Fiction and Fantasy
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 - Writing Plot Through Character
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - Writing Like a Filmmaker
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - Literacy through Film
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - Writing and Evaluating Effective Apologies
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - Crime Writing
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - Writing Song Lyrics
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - Writing Dialogue
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 - Freeing Ourselves from Writing Rules
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 - Generating New Stories
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 - Writing Free Verse
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 - How to Write Flash Fiction
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - How to Start Your Novel
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 - Writing Through Trauma