senior tribute week

Virtual Senior Tribute Week Honors Student Excellence

During the week of May 11th, 2020, 75 outstanding Rutgers University-Newark students who received one or more of the 2020 School of Arts & Sciences-Newark (SASN) Annual Awards were celebrated with a virtual "Senior Tribute Week" featuring a series of congratulatory videos released daily. The videos included congratulations from their faculty and mentors and acknowledgements of the award recipients selected by each department.    

Every year, the Office of Academic Services (OAS) works together with the Office of the Dean and the academic departments across the School of Arts & Sciences-Newark (SASN) to present awards to a select group of students, mostly seniors, for going above and beyond in their chosen areas of study. The awards are a combination of scholarships, monetary awards and plaques or certificates. Usually, these awards are presented at the SASN Annual Awards Banquet, but due to COVID-19, this year's in-person event was cancelled. However, that didn't stop the school from getting creative and honoring their outstanding achievements virtually. 

Sofia Pinto-Figueroa, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education, in a letter to the students, said "We are fortunate to have had you as scholars in our school, and while we will not be able to physically celebrate this accomplishment with you this month, we want you to be aware that the SASN faculty and staff could not be more proud of this graduating class, especially for the resilience and determination you have displayed over the last few months."

The week began with a special message to the Class of 2020 from faculty and staff, and continued with videos featuring students throughout the week. 

A special message to the class of 2020

The full series of videos can be viewed at

"I wish you all much success with your remaining final exams this week and with completing the remaining coursework.  Please know that you will always have a home at Rutgers University-Newark and within the School of Arts & Sciences-Newark.  Keep making us proud and stay in touch!  Much success with your future endeavors as you embark on the next step of your career," said Pinto-Figueroa.


The full list of 2020 awards and recipients are as follows:

Academic Foundations (EOF)
Community Service Award - EOF Lorenzo Nash
African American and African Studies
Wendell A. Jean-Pierre Award of Excellence Ine Collins
Merit Award

Natalie Guions, Aisha Dukureh

Arts, Culture and Media
Creative Achievement in Fine Arts Emmanuel Amoakohene
Creative Achievement in Graphic Design Nadezda Andrianova, Gisela Ochoa, Emily Corson
Journalism Excellence Award Christopher Goodlof
Theatre Excellence Award David Ben Arie
Biological Sciences
Bessie Dolgan Memorial Award Aleena Dar
Biological Sciences Award - Excellence in Scholarship Andrea Ascura, Arsany Yassa
Biological Sciences Award - Health Professions Career Award Ashani Shah
Biological Sciences Award for Excellence in Research Mariam Elias
John Keosian Award Joseph Reiner
ACS Division of Chemistry Award Daniel Pyle
Charles Sabat Award Natalie Al Inati
General Chemistry Teaching Award Musa Amjad
Harold A. Fales Memorial Award Rafael Eulalio
Hugh W.Thompson Memorial Award

Nicole Rodriguez

R. Ian Fryer Memorial Award Jose De La Rosa
Earth and Environmental Sciences
Herbert P. Woodward Memorial Fund Joaquin Cambeiro
Federal Reserve Challenge Award Robert Remuszka
Morris H. Beck Student Achievement Award Xuemeng Wang, Hongning Huang
Louis R. Zocca NCAS English Prize Sara M Urbano
David Diorio Memorial Award Natacha J Ramos Da Silva Lima
Madison C. Bates Memorial Prize Brittany Grau
David Robert Friedlander Memorial Award Sebastian Barrie, Amily Bolano-Diaz, Timothy Tucker
Edward H. Zabriski Memorial Fund Award Nour-Alhuda Abdel-Aziz, Johnny Romero
Sydney Zebel Award - NCAS History Alanur Akarsu, Javier Parra
Math & Computer Science
Computer Science Award Feiyang Wang
Ingrida Soldatova Award for Women in Mathematics Azreen Malek
Samuel Greitzer Math Award Giomarco Urbina
Office of Academic Services
Cassie Edward Miller Award Rosalina Cerda-Lopez
Dean Inge Gambe Scholarship Naomi Campbell
Dean Norman C. Miller Award Ashley Gillen
Dean of Academic Services Award Amir Gamil
Tau Sigma National Honor Society Award Katherine Benson
Yolande Rubianes Memorial Award Renaldo Chavis
Office of the Dean
CARR Academic Scholars Aurelia Hutson, Ethan Morrison, Aleena Dar, Andrea Ascura, Daniel Pyle, Ine Collins, Grace Akinlolu, Brianna Ali
Charles Pine Memorial Fund Award Xining Yuan
School of Arts and Sciences - Newark Dean's Award Anthony Galy, Mariam Bastawross
John Faulstich NCAS Alumni Award Ine Collins
Richard Robey Memorial Award Amily Bolano-Diaz
Charles I. Biederman Award Esder Chong, Emmanuel Pierre
Betty Skuse Thompson Prize in Physics Dory Castillo
Political Science
Benjamin M. Weissman Memorial Scholarship Sally Shobut
Benjamin M. Weissman Writing Award Anthony Ghaly
Heinz Seelbach Award Anthony Ghaly, Mariam Bastawross
Joel Girgus Memorial Award Daenelle Dawkins, Gabriella Juarez, Anthony Ghaly, Mariam Bastawross, Kainaat Anwar, Ine Collins, Chaandanie Ramnarace, Samantha Rieder
Lillian Robbins Memorial Award Samantha Rieder, Kainaat Anwar
Lourdes Casal Memorial Award Ine Collins
Social Work
Academic Excellence and Leadership Brooke Ulikowski
Academic Excellence in Social Work Chelsea Seelochan
Dean James Plummer Award Destiny Sparks
Excellence in Field Practice Award Karla Levine
Dr. Phylis J. Peterman Book Award Jamillah Williams, Raziya Karriem
Sociology and Anthropology
Jay Rumney Memorial Award Todd Young
Joannie L. Huberman Memorial Award Bonnie Marallano
Spanish and Portuguese Studies
Academic Excellence in Portuguese and Lusophone World Studies Deonca Williams, Manuela Castro
Israel S. Stamm Memorial Prize Fund Deonca Williams, Naidamar Maldonado
Outstanding Achievement in Spanish and Hispanic Civlization Nicole Rodriguez
Urban Education
Outstanding Urban Teacher Candidate in Secondary Education Louise Ann Borja
Women and Gender Studies
Beth Niemi Award for Excellence in Women's and Gender Studies Kushani Horawala Vithanage
Dean James Credle Award Alyssa Stenson