Group photo of award winners
Toggle caption Photo by Fred Stucker

Student Excellence Recognized at Annual Arts & Sciences Awards Night

On May 8, 2019, 80 outstanding Rutgers University-Newark students were honored at the 2019 School of Arts & Sciences-Newark (SASN) Annual Awards Banquet by their professors, mentors, and loved ones.  

Every year, the Office of Academic Services (OAS) works together with the Office of the Dean and the academic departments across SASN to present awards to a select group of students, mostly seniors, for going above and beyond in their chosen areas of study. The awards are a combination of scholarships, monetary awards and plaques or certificates.

Sofia Pinto-Figueroa, Dean of Academic Services, looks forward to the event each year.

“The SASN Annual Awards Banquet is an opportunity to celebrate and honor our undergraduate scholars. It’s a very exciting time to come together as a community with family, friends, faculty, staff and students all celebrating this amazing accomplishment that they’ve worked very hard to attain, which is their degree, and while doing so they’re being honored for their excellence in their field or in their specific area."

Some of the students shared their journey and plans for the future in a video that was shown to the guests at the banquet.


"Many of the awardees have overcome great obstacles to be here, many of them are first-generation, and first in their families to go to college,” said Pinto-Figueroa. “They have left an imprint on the SASN and overall Rutgers community, and we are excited to see what the next step in their journey will lead to, as we know that many will go on to graduate programs, medical schools, law schools, or accelerated masters programs. This is just the beginning of the success that our scholars will achieve."


The full list of 2019 awards and recipients are as follows:

Academic Foundations (EOF)
Community Service Award - EOF Yasmin Huff
African American and African Studies
Wendell A. Jean-Pierre Award of Excellence Jonathan N. Williams
Merit Award Keturah Maingrette
Arts, Culture and Media
Creative Achievement in Fine Arts Jenna Arevalo, Medinilla Soares
Creative Achievement in Graphic Design Jahi Lendor, Joanna Mantilla, Carmen Santiago
Journalism Excellence Award Claretta Bellamy
Theatre Excellence Award Nyasia Drye
Biological Sciences
Bessie Dolgan Memorial Award Deborah Daoud
Biological Sciences Award - Excellence in Scholarship Chioma Anamejeh, Penelope Collins, Daniel Nam, Rozan Ramadan, Isis Zhang
Biological Sciences Award - Health Professions Career Award Emanuellie Romelus
Biological Sciences Award for Excellence in Research Charmi Rana
John Keosian Award Ken Knapp
Charles Sabat Award Berothy Jilus
General Chemistry Teaching Award Shumuel Ofosu-Koranteng
Harold A. Fales Memorial Award Janmesh Rana
Hugh W.Thompson Memorial Award Anastacia Ipekci
R. Ian Fryer Memorial Award Mastora Saleh
Dean's Office
CARR Academic Scholars Mussab Ali, Shoshi Chowdhury, Saba Farid, Catalina S. Guzman, Nazje D. James, Laura A Marrone, Vyvan V. Nguyen, Emmanuellie Romelus
Charles Pine Memorial Fund Award Monica de deus dias matos, Brandon Martinez, Bakhtawar Zafar
School of Arts and Sciences-Newark Dean's Award Vyvan Nguyen, Daniel Nam
John Faulstich NCAS Alumni Award Khadija Tan
Richard Robey Memorial Award Sarah Elgalad 
Earth & Environmental Sciences
Herbert P. Woodward Memorial Fund Brittany Washington
Morris H. Beck Student Achievement Award Gifty Vroom Minnow
Louis R. Zocca NCAS English Prize Julie Gomez
David Diorio Memorial Award Yasmine Quinones
Madison C. Bates Memorial Prize Kevin Garrido
David Robert Friedlander Memorial Award Cara Joy Skelley, Robert Platvoet
Edward H. Zabriski Memorial Fund Award Zachary Jellison, Jasmine Shafei
John C. Smock Solana Reyes
Sydney Zebel Award - NCAS History Jason P Boehm
Math and Computer Science
Computer Science Award Laura Etori
Ingrida Soldatova Award for Women in Mathematics Xining Yuan
Samuel Greitzer Math Award Monica de deus dias matos
Office of Academic Services
Cassie Edward Miller Award Christian Mejia
Dean Inge Gambe Scholarship Salma Abdalla
Dean Norman C. Miller Award Crystal Deleon
Dean of Academic Services Award Amanda Carillo
Tau Sigma National Honor Society Jasmine Woodyard, Paige Rusnock, Chioma anaemejeh
Yolande Rubianes Memorial Award Tia Ryans
Charles I. Biederman Award Nicholas Planer
Betty Skuse Thompson Prize in Physics Bakhtawar Zafar
Political Science
Benjamin M. Weissman Memorial Scholarship Hector Perez
Benjamin M. Weissman Writing Award Alexandra Vidal
Heinz Seelbach Award Robert Platvoet
Joel Girgus Memorial Award Paige Rusnock, Elias Pitsilis, Sharon Katina
Lillian Robbins Memorial Award Alexandra Hansen, Naa Adei Kotey
Lourdes Casal Memorial Award Jessica Kluge
Social Work
Academic Excellence and Leadership Stephanie Cedeno
Academic Excellence in Social Work Amy Aracena
Dean James Plummer Award Darrius Mcknight
Excellence in Field Practice Award Nakiya Santos
Sociology and Anthropology
Jay Rumney Memorial Award Michael Speights
Joannie L. Huberman Memorial Award Alexander Rush
Spanish and Portuguese Studies
Academic Excellence in Portuguese and Lusophone World Studies Ana Pais, Ashley Gomez
Israel S. Stamm Memorial Prize Fund Raydel Rijo, Olivia Dlugosz
Outstanding Achievement in Spanish and Hispanic Civlization Olivia Dlugosz, Raydel Rijo
Urban Education
Outstanding Urban Teacher Candidate Secondary Education Emmanuel Barchue, Mastora Saleh
Women's and Gender Studies
Beth Niemi Award for Excellence in Women's and Gender Studies Sylwia D. Chmielowska
Dean James Credle Award Yadira Aguiar