Rutgers Newark Campus in the foreground with Newark's city skyline in the background

Academic Departments

Within the School of Arts & Sciences-Newark, the Newark College of Arts and Sciences (NCAS) and University College–Newark (UCN) are the heart of our campus—the place where exploration, discovery, and imagination come together to form the core of a liberal arts education.

We serve all the undergraduate colleges at Rutgers–Newark by offering 2,000 courses a year in more than 40 subjects, a rigorous Honors College, revolutionary Honors Learning-Living Community, and countless research and independent study opportunities working with and learning from internationally renowned faculty on the cutting edge of research in both the arts and the sciences. 

The School of Arts & Sciences-Newark combines the best of a large research university with the feel of a small liberal arts college. Explore our departments and programs to find a match that's right for you.