Faculty

 

Elizabeth Bonawitz

Assistant Professor

Cognitive development and computational modeling; causal, social inference; conceptual change

Paul Boxer

Professor

Violent and non-violent antisocial behavior; evidence-based interventions for conduct problems and delinquency; juvenile justice practices and policies; socialization  and social development; influence of violence in communities, the media, families, and peer groups on individual behavior and mental health.

Mauricio Delgado

Professor & Chair

Behavioral and neural correlates of reward-related processing, with an emphasis on how the affective properties of outcomes or feedback influence choice behavior. using neuroimaging and behavioral and psychophysiological methods.

Alan Gilchrist

Professor  

Visual cognition; surface-color perception.

William Graves

Assistant Professor

Functional brain imaging of language and reading. Tracking in both space (using magnetic resonance imaging) and time (using magnetoencephalography) how the brain computes sound and meaning from what we see.

Stephen José Hanson

Professor  & RUBIC Director

Computational neuroimaging, memory and learning, connectionist models, categorization, big data modeling.

Kent Harber

Professor 

Interracial feedback biases; the effects of resources (e.g., social support, self worth) on perception and judgment; how self-esteem promotes attention to emotions; the effects of emotional disclosure on social judgment; and how emotional disclosure leads to news broadcasting.

Samantha Heintzelman

Assistant Professor

Psychological well-being; the experience of meaning in life; positive emotions; personality and individual differences.

Barry Komisaruk

Distinguished Professor

Brain activity related to genital stimulation, sexual response, orgasm, and analgesia in women and men, measured by functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI).

Vanessa LoBue

Associate Professor & Graduate Director

Cognitive, emotional, and perceptual development in infants and young children; threat perception; fear learning.

Luis Rivera

Associate Professor

Implicit social cognition; effect of stereotypes, prejudice, and discrimination on stigmatized individuals' self-concept and identity, and mental and physical health.

Miriam Rosenberg-Lee

Assistant Professor

Functional neuroimaging of mathematical cognition; cognitive development; learning disabilities; cognition in autism spectrum disorders; learning and reasoning.

Harold Siegel

Professor 

Attachment theory; adult attachment; attitudes toward mother and other adult relationships.

Elizabeth Tricomi

Associate Professor

Functional neuroimaging of learning and decision making; the influences of affective information on cognitive processing, neural basis of goal-directed behavior.

Gretchen   Van de Walle

Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator

Conceptual development in infants and young children; epistemic cognition; reasoning about science.

Research Faculty

Michael Shiflett Research Assistant Professor & Neuroscience Major Coordinator
Jamil Bhanji Research Assistant Professor

 

Emeritus Faculty

Colin Beer

Professor Emeritus

Communication behavior, social development, and breeding biology of gulls.

Mei-Fang Cheng

Professor Emeritus

Social factors in adult neurogenesis.

Ken Kressel

Professor Emeritus

Social and interpersonal conflict; behavior and unconscious cognitive schema of professionals who mediate conflict; expertise in mediation and related fields (e.g marital therapy; organizational ombudsman).

 

Teaching Faculty

Gerard La Morte

Assistant Teaching Professor and Assistant Undergraduate Coordinator glamorte@psychology.rutgers.edu
Ellen Halpern
 
Teaching Instructor and Assistant Graduate Director halperne@psychology.rutgers.edu
Christina Zambrano
 
Assistant Teaching Professor cz147@psychology.rutgers.edu

 

Part-Time Lecturers

Katy Blacker

kblacker@psychology.rutgers.edu

Mary Cahill

mefritzhill@gmail.com

Carey Curry

carey.curry@rutgers.edu

Brent Costleigh

bcostleigh@brookdalecc.edu

Eugene DeRobertis

ederobertis@brookdalecc.edu

Frank Gengaro

frankg@psychology.rutgers.edu

Matthew Giobbi

matthew.giobbi@rutgers.edu

Diana Glynn

diana@psychology.rutgers.edu

Jamie Gorman gormanj@psychology.rutgers.edu
 

Nan Jacobson-Wise

nanwise@psychology.rutgers.edu
Robert Kurland
 
rkurland@rutgers.edu
Margaret Maghan mmaghan@psychology.rutgers.edu
Allyson Meloni
 
melonia@psychology.rutgers.edu
Warren Reich
 
reichw@andromeda.rutgers.edu
Brian Sexton

brian.sexton@rutgers.edu

Roxanne Vega rvega@psychology.rutgers.edu
 

 

Associated Graduate Faculty from Other Departmen

Ken Aizawa

ken.aizawa@rutgers.edu

Jennifer Austin

jbaustin@newark.rutgers.edu

April Benasich

benasich@newark.rutgers.edu

Raffaella DeRosa

gabri@newark.rutgers.edu

Mark Gluck

gluck@pavlov.rutgers.edu

Joan Morrell

jmorrell@newark.rutgers.edu

Catherine Myers

cemyers@newark.rutgers.edu

Patrick Shafto patrick.shafto@gmail.com