Department of African American and African Studies

Core Faculty

Name Title Email

Belinda Edmondson


Wendell Holbrook Associate Professor

Lacey Hunter Part-Time Lecturer

James Jones Assistant Professor
John Keene Professor & Department Chair
Wendell Marsh Assistant Professor
Hyacinth Miller Instructor
Charles Payne Distinguished Professor and Cornwall Center Director
Salamishah Tillet Professor, Director of the New Arts Social Justice Initiative, and Associate Director of the Price Institute
Melissa Valle Assistant Professor


Affiliated Faculty 

Name Title Email

Sahar Aziz

Professor of Law; Chancellor's Social Justice Scholar; Director, Center for Security, Race and Rights

Patricia Akhimie

Assistant Professor, Department of English

Frances Bartkowski Professor and Chairperson, Department of Arts, Culture, and Media

Sterling L. Bland

Associate Professor, Department of English

Rod Brunson Dean and Professor, School of Criminal Justice

Sherri-Ann Butterfield

Executive Vice Chancellor and Associate Professor of Sociology

Jordan Casteel Assistant Professor, Department of Arts, Culture & Media
Johnna Christian Associate Professor, School of Criminal Justice
Sandrine Colard Assistant Professor, Department of Arts, Culture, and Media
Melissa L. Cooper Assistant Professor, Department of History

Jason Cortés

Associate Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Studies; Director, Graduate Program in American Studies


Jon Cowans

Associate Professor, Department of History

Timothy Eatman

Dean, Honors Living - Learning Community;  Associate Professor of Urban Education

Kyle Farmbry Associate Professor of Public Affairs and Administration;  Dean, Graduate School-Newark

Ruth Feldstein

Professor, Department of History, American Studies and Women's and Gender Studies

R. Brian Ferguson

Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Barbara Foley

Distinguished Professor, Department of English

James Goodman

Distinguished Professor, Department of History, MFA Faculty

Taja-Nia Y. Henderson Professor of Law
Suzanne A. Kim Professor of Law and Judge Denny Chin Scholar

Mark Krasovic

Associate Professor, Department of History; Associate Director of the Clement A. Price Institute on Ethnicity, Culture, and the Modern Experience

Lindsey McDougle Associate Professor, Rutgers SPAA

David McLean

Instructor, Department of Philosophy

Jody Miller Distinguished Professor and Faculty Chair, School of Criminal Justice

Sean T. Mitchell

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Lyra Monteiro

Assistant Professor, Department of History

Karen Oliver

Adjunct Faculty, Department of English

Brandon Paradise Associate Professor of Law and Professor Dallas Willard Scholar
Twila Perry Professor of Law and Judge Alexander P. Waugh, Sr. Scholar

Phylis J.  Peterman

Department Chair & Associate Professor, Department of Social Work

Arthur B. Powell

Department Chair & Professor, Department of Urban Education

Lyneir Richardson Instructor in Entrepreneurship and Executive Director of The Center for Urban Entrepreneurship and Economic Development (CUEED)
Jeffrey Robinson Associate Professor, Management & Global Business

Beryl Satter

Professor, Department of History, Graduate Program in American Studies, Program in Women's and Gender Studies

Mercer Sullivan Professor, School of Criminal Justice

Habtamu Tegegne

Assistant Professor of History

David Dante Troutt

Professor of Law and Justice John J. Francis Scholar

Jerome Williams

Distinguished Professor and Prudential Chair in Business, Provost of RU-N Campus and Executive Vice Chancellor of RBS