Department of African American and African Studies

Core Faculty

Name

Title Email

Belinda Edmondson

Professor & Acting Department Chair

edmondsn@newark.rutgers.edu

Wendell Holbrook Associate Professor

wholbrok@rutgers.edu

Lacey Hunter Part-Time Lecturer

lahunter@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

James Jones Assistant Professor james.r.jones@rutgers.edu
John Keene Associate Professor & Department Chair  john.keene@rutgers.edu
Wendell Marsh Assistant Professor wm276@rutgers.edu
Hyacinth Miller Instructor hyacinth.miller@rutgers.edu
Charles Payne Distinguished Professor and Cornwall Center Director charles.payne@rutgers.edu
Salamishah Tillet Professor, Director of the New Arts Social Justice Initiative, and Associate Director of the Price Institute  st823@rutgers.edu
Melissa Valle Assistant Professor

melissa.valle@rutgers.edu

 

Affiliated Faculty 

Name

Title Email

Sahar Aziz

Professor of Law; Chancellor's Social Justice Scholar; Director, Center for Security, Race and Rights

sahar.aziz@law.rutgers.edu

Patricia Akhimie

Assistant Professor, Department of English

patricia.akhimie@rutgers.edu

Frances Bartkowski Professor and Chairperson, Department of English franb@newark.rutgers.edu

Sterling L. Bland

Associate Professor, Department of English

slbland@newark.rutgers.edu

Rod Brunson Dean and Professor rod.brunson@rutgers.edu

Sherri-Ann Butterfield

Executive Vice Chancellor and Associate Professor of Sociology

sbutter@newark.rutgers.edu

Johnna Christian Associate Professor johnnac@scj.rutgers.edu
Melissa L. Cooper Assistant Professor, Department of History melissa.cooper@rutgers.edu

Jason Cortés

Associate Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Studies; Director, Graduate Program in American Studies

jasoncor@rutgers.edu

 

Jon Cowans

Associate Professor, Department of History

jonco58@aol.com

Timothy Eatman

Dean, Honors Living - Learning Community;  Associate Professor of Urban Education

tim.eatman@rutgers.edu

Kyle Farmbry Associate Professor of Public Affairs and Administration;  Dean, Graduate School-Newark kfarmbry@newark.rutgers.edu

Ruth Feldstein

Professor, Department of History, American Studies and Women's and Gender Studies

feldst@newark.rutgers.edu

R. Brian Ferguson

Department of Sociology and Anthropology

bfergusn@rutgers.edu

Barbara Foley

Professor II, Department of English

bfoley@rutgers.edu

James Goodman

Distinguished Professor, Department of History, MFA Faculty

goodmanj@rutgers.edu

Taja-Nia Y. Henderson Associate Professor of Law thenderson@kinoy.rutgers.edu
Suzanne A. Kim Professor of Law and Judge Denny Chin Scholar skim@kinoy.rutgers.edu

Mark Krasovic

Associate Professor, Department of History; Associate Director of the Clement A. Price Institute on Ethnicity, Culture, and the Modern Experience

krasovic@rutgers.edu

Lindsey McDougle Assistant Professor, Rutgers SPAA lindsey.mcdougle@rutgers.edu

David McLean

Instructor, Department of Philosophy

demcclean@hotmail.com

Jody Miller Distinguished Professor and Faculty Chair jody.miller@rutgers.edu

Sean T. Mitchell

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

seantm@rutgers.edu

Lyra Monteiro

Assistant Professor, Department of History

lyra.monteiro@rutgers.edu

Karen Oliver

Adjunct Faculty, Department of English

kmoliver@rutgers.edu

Brandon Paradise Associate Professor of Law bparadise@kinoy.rutgers.edu
Twila Perry Professor of Law and Judge Alexander P. Waugh, Sr. Scholar tperry@kinoy.rutgers.edu

Phylis J.  Peterman

Department Chair & Associate Professor, Department of Social Work

ppetermn@newark.rutgers.edu

Arthur B. Powell

Department Chair & Professor, Department of Urban Education

powellab@newark.rutgers.edu

Lyneir Richardson Instructor in Entrepreneurship and Executive Director of The Center for Urban Entrepreneurship and Economic Development (CUEED) lrichardson@business.rutgers.edu
Jeffrey Robinson Associate Professor, Management & Global Business jrobinson@business.rutgers.edu

Beryl Satter

Professor, Department of History, Graduate Program in American Studies, Program in Women's and Gender Studies

satter@newark.rutgers.edu

Mercer Sullivan Associate Professor mercer.sullivan@rutgers.edu

Habtamu Tegegne

Assistant Professor of History

ht254@rutgers.edu

David Dante Troutt

Professor of Law and Justice John J. Francis Scholar

 

dtroutt@kinoy.rutgers.edu

Jerome Williams

Distinguished Professor and Prudential Chair in Business, Provost of RU-N Campus and Executive Vice Chancellor of RBS

jeromew@business.rutgers.edu