students laughing, exterior of New Plaza

About Us

With degrees offered in nearly 40 undergraduate fields, 17 master’s programs, and 8 doctoral programs, the School of Arts & Sciences–Newark  (SASN) provides opportunities for academic exploration in a wide range of studies.

female Rutgers student in Rutgers gear
SASN is the largest school at Rutgers University-Newark

From its founding as Dana College in 1930 to its current status as the second largest unit in all of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Arts and Sciences has been serving Newark and the region for more than eighty years. The School of Arts & Sciences–Newark now serves:

  • Newark College of Arts and Sciences (NCAS), the largest of the seven schools on campus, which enrolls more than 60 percent of the undergraduates at Rutgers University–Newark;
  • University CollegeNewark (UCN),which allows adult and nontraditional students to attend classes on evenings and weekends;
  • Graduate School–Newark, which serves graduate students at the master's or doctoral level in 19 disciplines; and
  • The Honors College, which offers enrichment opportunities in all disciplines for those undergraduates ready for the most challenging curricula in the university.

With nearly 2,000 classes offered every year in subjects ranging from studio art to neuroscience, the School of Arts & Sciences–Newark has something for everyone. Browse our undergraduate degree programs, graduate programs, and Honors schools.